Categories
Uncategorized

“Stripper” classes

So at my job, we sell these classes that ‘teach’ you how to be a ‘Stripper’. This is pretty much centered at teaching lap dance techniques and a little pole routine to women who are out celebrating whatever momentous occasion they have going on.

Honestly I think it’s kind of ironic that these women are going to a class to learn this stuff, when their SOs may possibly be getting the real thing at night (hehe).

But back on point- I HATE these classes. They started popping up a few years ago and then along with that clubs and bars starting putting up stripper poles… it’s frustrating and here’s why.

As a dancer (former or not), I hated hearing the following phrases:

  • ‘OMG, you look like a stripper/hooker’- cause they happen to be wearing a skimpy dress
  • ‘You’re dancing like a stripper’- stupid poles

I’ve always said/thought this

  • ‘No bitch, you’re a slut on a pole….’

I’m sorry, really I am, but until you take your clothes off for money or get paid for sex, you are neither a stripper or working girl.

These women want to play pretend for an hour or so to learn something for fun that we’ve based our livelihood on- it is kind of frustrating to get insulted for doing what we need to do to survive when they go pay money to do it for fun.

And disclaimer- YES, I know this sounds extremely petty and bitter on my part.

I loved my jobs, they were fun, lucrative, empowering for me and gave me a sense of self confidence that I can never duplicate. I can’t get mad at women for wanting to bring spince into (or back into) their relationships or even just to feel sexy and confident.

But what I think I can get upset about is when you have fun playing ‘stripper’, then go insult the girl who does it for a living.

And to close this out- this one is super stupid but it still irks me: their choice in ‘Stripper’ names. They’re just so stereotypical-especially cause I know that most of these names have never seen the club floor (unless it’s in movie). I mean I’ve had ten and they were pretty normal…

 

hehe, you didn’t think I’d tell you, did you? 😉

By theotherworkinggirl

In a nutshell, I was a working girl who was a happily employed working girl at one of Nevada's many brothels. Now, while I would love to tell you exactly where I worked, I feel it would ruin the magic.
But I only worked at one, cause I wouldn’t go anywhere else.
Maybe one day I'll share- maybe... hehe.
Now, I tell “stories” of my adventures in Vegas.

Leave a comment